PPRuNe Forums

Go Back   PPRuNe Forums > Misc. Forums > Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting
Forgotten your Username/Password?


Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. We will also try and help with troubleshooting any technical problems you may have with the forums.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th Oct 2012, 17:32   #1 (permalink)

Keeping Danny in Sandwiches
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 1,150
Email hacking message from "Microsoft"

I have received notifications from Microsoft today informing me that 2 email addresses I use have had unusual activity on them inviting me to go to their website to change my email passwords. The site they direct me to is https://account.live.com. I am suspicious and have gone to my email provider and changed my password anyway.
Does anyone else have the same message with Windows live mail and anyone have any views at to whether this is a hacking attempt within live mail?

Last edited by sky9; 10th Oct 2012 at 17:33.
sky9 is offline   Reply
Old 10th Oct 2012, 21:00   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: .
Posts: 2,009
account.live.com is currently redirecting to login.live.com, which IS a Microsoft site

however I'd be surprised at M$ mailing you in this way - their usual style is to lock the account until you notice and contact them. Also sending links like that is a no-no
My guess is that the link isn't what it appears to be - and either hides a redirect to somewhere else, or else has malware embedded in it

Does the mail address you by name? Or by your e-mail address?
Milo Minderbinder is online now   Reply
Old 11th Oct 2012, 17:32   #3 (permalink)

Keeping Danny in Sandwiches
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 1,150
It addresses me by email address and is coming up now saying that there has been unauthorised attempts to get into my account. I am no longer directed to the MS site but it doesn't recognise my password and keeps bringing up a request to type in a number of letters.

I went onto the virgin media site and changed my password however livemail didn't recognise it although I am still receiving emails into livemail.
It is now plainly irritating as it is interfering with livemail but not stopping the emails coming in or going out.
sky9 is offline   Reply
Old 11th Oct 2012, 20:07   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: .
Posts: 2,009
"I am no longer directed to the MS site but it doesn't recognise my password and keeps bringing up a request to type in a number of letters. "

are you saying that when you try to log into windows live, your password is rejected?
if so, then your live / hotmail account has been hijacked and you need to take steps to claim it back

on a separate issue - I get the impression that you used a Virgin e-mail address as your Live identity? Thats never a good idea -far better to keep them apart

Finally "It addresses me by email address" indicates its a scam, any real warning would use your real name

You need to log into the REAL Windows Live website and set about reclaiming your account. Dont follow the links in the mail
Milo Minderbinder is online now   Reply
Old 12th Oct 2012, 07:46   #5 (permalink)
TRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 469
Well, not an e-mail but I found this on my account when I tried to access it - my bold and underline:
Quote:
Your account has been temporarily blocked


Someone may have used your account to send out a lot of junk messages or done something else that violates the Microsoft services agreement.
What do you need to do?
We'll send a verification code to your mobile phone. All you need is a phone that can receive text messages. After you enter the code, you can sign in.
They don't have - and never will have a phone number for me.

Anyone else had this message?
TRC is offline   Reply
Old 12th Oct 2012, 08:38   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The World
Posts: 69
There is a provision for a telephone number in your security profile. I've had the same twice before when my account was hijacked.

However, if you move to another country or have a mobile from another country, the profile always returns the country code to the country where you opened the account.

Effectively it's useless. Make sure your alternative email address is valid
to receive the verification code.
TZ350 is offline   Reply
Old 12th Oct 2012, 09:00   #7 (permalink)
More bang for your buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: land of the clanger
Age: 71
Posts: 3,486
I have apart from my BT mail address, a hotmail account, I then opened a G_Mail account to send hotmail verification codes to and the G-Mail one goes to my hotmail account, both are non-attributable.
green granite is offline   Reply
Old 12th Oct 2012, 14:11   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,648
Quote:
Someone may have used your account to send out a lot of junk messages or done something else
That sentence is a key to a phishing request

the use of coloquial phrases like "junk mail" and "or done something else" are not expected in legit customer communications.
lomapaseo is online now   Reply
Old 12th Oct 2012, 15:37   #9 (permalink)
TRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 469
Thanks for the replies.

It doesn't look right to me either. I'll just let the account fade away I think, it's only for comms with my family etc, so easy enough to let them know a new address.

Can't trust anything any more .
TRC is offline   Reply
Old 12th Oct 2012, 19:49   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: .
Posts: 2,009
TRC

thats almost certainly geniune

someone else had accessed the account and was sending spam
Microsoft have locked it to enable you to recover it

seen it many times
Milo Minderbinder is online now   Reply
 
 
This ad will disappear if you login
Reply
 


Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 18:50.


vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
© 1996-2012 The Professional Pilots Rumour Network

As these are anonymous forums the origins of the contributions may be opposite to what may be apparent. In fact the press may use it, or the unscrupulous, or sciolists*, to elicit certain reactions.

*"sciolist"... Noun, archaic. "a person who pretends to be knowledgeable and well informed".