![]() |
Email hacking message from "Microsoft"
I have received notifications from Microsoft today informing me that 2 email addresses I use have had unusual activity on them inviting me to go to their website to change my email passwords. The site they direct me to is https://account.live.com. I am suspicious and have gone to my email provider and changed my password anyway.
Does anyone else have the same message with Windows live mail and anyone have any views at to whether this is a hacking attempt within live mail? |
account.live.com is currently redirecting to login.live.com, which IS a Microsoft site
however I'd be surprised at M$ mailing you in this way - their usual style is to lock the account until you notice and contact them. Also sending links like that is a no-no My guess is that the link isn't what it appears to be - and either hides a redirect to somewhere else, or else has malware embedded in it Does the mail address you by name? Or by your e-mail address? |
It addresses me by email address and is coming up now saying that there has been unauthorised attempts to get into my account. I am no longer directed to the MS site but it doesn't recognise my password and keeps bringing up a request to type in a number of letters.
I went onto the virgin media site and changed my password however livemail didn't recognise it although I am still receiving emails into livemail. It is now plainly irritating as it is interfering with livemail but not stopping the emails coming in or going out. |
"I am no longer directed to the MS site but it doesn't recognise my password and keeps bringing up a request to type in a number of letters. "
are you saying that when you try to log into windows live, your password is rejected? if so, then your live / hotmail account has been hijacked and you need to take steps to claim it back on a separate issue - I get the impression that you used a Virgin e-mail address as your Live identity? Thats never a good idea -far better to keep them apart Finally "It addresses me by email address" indicates its a scam, any real warning would use your real name You need to log into the REAL Windows Live website and set about reclaiming your account. Dont follow the links in the mail |
Well, not an e-mail but I found this on my account when I tried to access it - my bold and underline:
Your account has been temporarily blocked Someone may have used your account to send out a lot of junk messages or done something else that violates the Microsoft services agreement. What do you need to do? We'll send a verification code to your mobile phone. All you need is a phone that can receive text messages. After you enter the code, you can sign in. Anyone else had this message? |
There is a provision for a telephone number in your security profile. I've had the same twice before when my account was hijacked.
However, if you move to another country or have a mobile from another country, the profile always returns the country code to the country where you opened the account. Effectively it's :mad: useless. Make sure your alternative email address is valid to receive the verification code. |
I have apart from my BT mail address, a hotmail account, I then opened a G_Mail account to send hotmail verification codes to and the G-Mail one goes to my hotmail account, both are non-attributable.
|
Someone may have used your account to send out a lot of junk messages or done something else the use of coloquial phrases like "junk mail" and "or done something else" are not expected in legit customer communications. |
Thanks for the replies.
It doesn't look right to me either. I'll just let the account fade away I think, it's only for comms with my family etc, so easy enough to let them know a new address. Can't trust anything any more :sad:. |
TRC
thats almost certainly geniune someone else had accessed the account and was sending spam Microsoft have locked it to enable you to recover it seen it many times |
| All times are GMT. The time now is 03:58. |
Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.