PDA

View Full Version : Moving schools and dealing with payment

Ian_Wannabe
20th Aug 2003, 07:46
Hey everyone,

I've got a problem and was wondering if anyone else has been put into the same situation.

I'm a student PPL and i'm around 4 hours from my checkride, only in four weeks i'm moving to Leeds as i'm about to start university there.

If the summer was what its supposed to be, i.e great weather - then the completion of the course wouldn't be a problem. However with recent poor visibility, ive had so many lessons cancled that I'm seriously doubting that i'll fininsh in the four weeks I have left. This means that I have to move flying schools without fininshing the course.

My problem is that when I joined my home club back in October, I paid £2000 up front for 21hrs of flying lessons and i'm only about £1,500 (approx) through that money.

Has anyone else had to move schools whilst still working through the money paid up front, because my main concern is that i'll loose £500 for flying I havent done.

I realise phoning the club owner is the obvious thing to do, but I want to do my homework first to find out what the score is at other flying clubs - think of it as a backup plan :ok:

Thanks for your help in advance

Ian

Charlie Zulu
20th Aug 2003, 13:21
Hi Ian_Wannabe,

Normally a flying school should be just like any other reputable business and refund the money that you have on account.

However there could be a side issue here whereby you paid them £2000 for 21 hours of flying at a slightly reduced rate. Ie, normally it is £100 an hour but they've included an extra hour as an incentive for you to pay up front.