PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft - buying my first one..

The Phoenix Rises
11th Aug 2003, 14:17
I am a student with a target of obtaining my PPL within the next couple of months, and want to buy an aircraft for that time.

I am sure this kind of topic must have been posted many times before so apologies for the duplication!

I have been learnng on a PA28 and was thinking of a 6-seater Cherokee/Lance. After more thought, I now think I should first fly more widely in the type of aircraft I know before changing to the bigger one, perhaps in a year or so. So I am back to thinking of looking for something like an Archer III or similar. Are these aircraft (the 4 and the 6 seater) that different to fly? And can anyone tell me, or where can I find, the running and maintenance costs for these two types?

My ideal budget for the Archer would be betwen £60k-£80k tops. For the Cherokee I was going to go to £100k.

Any advice you folks can give me generally on the subject of purchase, I would be most grateful. Any good websites with planes for sale that I can look at?

Incidentally, my flying club has said they would find me an aircraft and get all the paperwork and registrations checked and correct for a fee of £3,500. Does this sound reasonable, or outrageous?!

Thanks.

The Phoenix

(PS: I am in the East Sussex area.)

LowNSlow
11th Aug 2003, 14:36
They are going to charge £3,500 for phoning the CAA and running a credit check on the aeroplane? Are you sure they didn't mean importing an aircraft for you?

Pilot, Flyer and Today's Pilot magazines all have extensive For Sale sections which should have something you'll find attractive.

Before buying a PA-28 variant why not go to a few different clubs post-PPL and try flying a few different types like C172's, Katanas, Robins etc. You might find that you no langer want an Archer......

The Phoenix Rises
11th Aug 2003, 14:51
Hi LowNSlow: