PDA

View Full Version : Hot Air Balloons

Johnavia
21st Jul 2003, 23:13
Hey All,
Just wanted the opinion of professional pilots and PPLs alike on Hot Air Ballooning near airfields/airports. Or within busy controlled airspace.
Im a trainee Balloon pilot and would like to gauge your opinions on these 'control limited- aerostats'. Any bad experiences with Balloons getting too close or being where they shouldnt be, perhaps?
The same question could be applied to Gliders, or Parachutists?

Your thoughts, if any?!

John:sad:

wing_nut1
22nd Jul 2003, 06:40
Hey John,

I should imagine that ballooning in busy controled airspace is probably not recommended as i should imagine you know balloons have priority over gilders and flying machienes. (would mean a lot of dodging around you) but i have never been in such a situation so not sure how valid my contribution is. You could try writing to an ATC department or a local busy airport to see their views and what they would reccomend.

Hope its some use :confused:

Wing Nut:ok:

A Very Civil Pilot
22nd Jul 2003, 22:00
Was a pax in a HAB once, transitting a local ATZ. Tower gave us a clearance to enter, and to report turning base leg.

Some people have no idea!

KitKatPacificuk
22nd Jul 2003, 22:05
I used to crew with a company. They have landed at Luton before. This was before it was as busy as it today. 5 years ago. The balloon looks like a flock of birds on the radar. Let them know which way you are going and should be ok if not busy.
Have been refused transit too. Had to land before the Airspace. Was military tho.

Spitoon
23rd Jul 2003, 06:57
I've worked a tower in an area that was very busy with balloons. From the ATC perspective it was no great problem and the balloon pilots would climb or descent to fit in with aeroplane patterns etc. The thing about balloons is that they only tend to fly when the weather is nice and they're easily visible.