PDA

View Full Version : Carbon Brakes

Zandor
10th Sep 2001, 03:05
Can someone tell me where I can get more info about carbon brakes?
What is the difference between carbon brakes and steel brakes?
Thank you, folks.

exeng
10th Sep 2001, 03:46
I'm not an expert but I believe that carbon brakes are:
a) lighter
b) more expensive
C) tend to snatch

Regards
Exeng

Prof2MDA
10th Sep 2001, 06:37
Carbon brakes also get more efficient the hotter they get, and don't get as hot in any event. Downside is that the wear more if you use them like you do steel brakes, upside is that if used correctly they will outlast steel brakes and continue to provide full braking capability even when worn to almost nothing, whereas steel brakes get dramatically worse as they wear.

Iceman49
10th Sep 2001, 06:49
BF Goodrich had a good publication on the differences between carbon and steel brakes, very informational.

Zandor
10th Sep 2001, 15:21
Iceman49, how can I get that publication?
Thanks

delarocha
10th Sep 2001, 20:50
Dear forum readers

Carbon brakes represent an advance in brake technology. Carbon has properties that make it highly desirable as an heat absorber.
Its high specific heat reduces brake weight. High thermal conductivity ensures that heat transfer, throughout the disk stack is more uniform and occurs at a faster rate.
Comparation
---------------------Steel---Carbon
Density(lb/in3)______0.283___0.061
Specific heat________0.130___0.310 Btu/lbºF
Thermal Conductivity___24____100 Btu/h.ft2ºF
Temperature Limit ºF__2100___4000
Another aspect to compare is the relative strenght at high temperatures. Although specific strenght (tensile strenght divided by density) is higher for steel, carbon can retain its strenght at high temperature. After 1200 ºF carbon specific strenght exceeds steel.
This property yields a brake heat sink whose operating temperature is limited by the temperature limits of the surrounding structure. This is important in a RTO.