PDA

View Full Version : Serious lack of Airmanship....!

Funkie
8th Jun 2003, 18:51
Hi all,

I'm a PPL student with about 14hrs under my belt and progressing well, I think.

However, I have a little concern related to qualified PPL's that cannot conform to circuit patterns, ie overhead joins, noise abatement turns, climb outs and poor almost non-existent RT.

Recently, at my local airfield, there was almost a complete and unreserved ignorance of the 'circuit' during a day when air traffic was relatively high over normal. This has prompted the questions, Does this happen at other airfields? and if so, What can be done to reduce/improve these issues?

As I become more exposed to the private flying world of aviation, concern for my safety begins to grow……..

I look forward to the replies and opinions.

Funkie;)

Zlin526
8th Jun 2003, 19:09
Mmmmmmmm, I can see a baited hook, but I'm going to take a bite...Sounds like the sort of question that a local nimby might ask.

May I suggest you get used to it PDQ. There is no such thing as a 'normal'' circuit pattern anymore, what with noise abatement procedures to cater for the nimbys. It would be interesting to find out which airfield you refer to. Give us a clue?

Non-radio traffic is completly normal where I fly from, and the best way to deal with it is to keep your eyes open, have outstanding airmanship yourself, always assume the other pilots are out to kill you, and make your own decisions, and not rely on somebody in the tower/office to tell you what to do... You're flying the aeroplane, YOU make the decisions! Unless of course you're under a full ATC service, but then these guys tend to know what they're doing, as opposed to some FISO and A/G services. (Note, I stress SOME. Most are very good!)

Sorry to be so negative, but its a Sunday, the WX is awful, can't go flying and I'm stuck indoors at the PC

Have a nice day..

Zlin

Bluebeard2
8th Jun 2003, 19:31
Let he who is without sin etc. etc.