PDA

View Full Version : Flying as passenger in other student's lessons

MonkeyPilot
19th May 2003, 16:46
Hello

I'm a student PPL and this is my first post on pprune! I have had a few lessons now and Jimmy (my instuctor) has suggested that I come in the back of some of his other students' lessons and they sit in on mine, so that we can all learn from each others experiences.

I can see this is probably a good idea, but I'm worried it might be distracting having another student watching me - does anyone have any experiences or advice they can share before I tell my instructor yes or no?

Thanks!

PPRuNe Towers
19th May 2003, 16:56
Highly recommended and very thoughtful of you to consider the effects of 'sitting in.'

It's worth putting the effort in to prevent such problems because you get so much from watching others.
Doesn't matter whether it is for your PPL or after 20 years of airline flying - you can't help but learn.

You aren't 'tunnelled' into whatever the task is you are learning - you're developing an overview of the entire flight and its conduct. Your development of awareness and airmanship accelerates hugely - assuming you're not just staring out of the window and dribbling slightly:uhoh: :\ :oh:

Regards
Rob

Lowtimer
19th May 2003, 18:38
The RAF once tried this with the three-seat Percival Prentice trainer, but I gather they had trouble with the rear-most student being sick and gave it up as a bad job.