PDA

View Full Version : Flying colours flying club in winnipeg

ILOVEYWG
17th Mar 2003, 15:45
Hello everybody. I am a student pilot with about 35 hours of time so far. I currently fly out of Winnipeg flying club and are enjoying it so far but still get a little nervous before each lesson, especially if its a solo. I am 17 years old and I just want to ask is that a good age to start? I hope in about 10 or so years, I could fly for a major airline like Air Canada or similar. Think I could do it in 10 years? But anyways, I need serious advice here. After I get my private pilots license from the Winnipeg flying club, I was thinking of going for the bachelor of science degree in aviation that flying colours offers through a correspondence course with the Utah Valley State College. I just want to know if the program is legit and worth spending the money on and what kind of training you get if anybody knows. I have looked at tons of other aviation schools, and their all either too far away or mostly too expensive. Going to the USA is out of the question for me. I'm just a little worried that a big airline like Air Canada won't recognize this little flying school. It is an accreted university your getting your degree from, but will an online degree be just as recognized and getting one the regular way? I would like to know that going to this flying club and doing the correspondence thing to get the degree is good, because it works perfectly for me. I work at the Winnipeg International Airport and the club is right there, a 25 or so minuet drive from home so its nice and close. Don't have to pay room and board and still get to live at home with free meals and such. I really want to go there because I want to be able to keep my job while I go there, and want to stay at home, but is this smart? If anybody knows about this program (at flying colours flying club at the Winnipeg international airport) I would love to hear any advice you have for me. I really need to know that th