PDA

View Full Version : Crossing the Channel

Samirlsn
20th Jan 2003, 22:12
Hi,

I'm contemplating crossing the English Channel to the north coast of France for the first time within the next few weeks in my hired PA28. It'll be a solo VFR flight, from Norwich to Calais via Dover (DVR VOR) and then back again at FL60 - I won't be landing in France. I just want to have a look around and to be able to say that I've flown to France. I've got a PPL, and have flown 90 hours (25 solo), most of which has been in America - so I'm a little unsure about what might be involved in a flight like this.

If someone could answer a few questions I have I would be very grateful!

1) Since I'm not landing in France, am I right to assume that I needn't worry about Customs?

2) Do I NEED to file a flight plan? If so, how would I go about doing that (I've never done one before)?

3) Do I NEED to be in contact with an ATSU (e.g. 124.6) while crossing the channel (I know it's probably recommended)?

4) As I understand it, I won't need clearance to enter the class E airspace around Calais - is this correct?

5) Are there any other issues involved that you think I should be aware of?

Thank you,

Samir.

Keef
20th Jan 2003, 23:05
1. You will be leaving UK airspace and entering French, so I think it would be wise to land at a Customs airport both ends. Otherwise, you might be "met" and asked a lot of questions. After all, why go all the way to France, and then not land there?

2. YES. Mandatory when crossing an international border. There are many guides to filling in FPLs - if you go to an airport with a briefing unit (such as Southend), they can help you.

3. Yes.

4. No. Arriving from abroad. If you don't talk to Lille Approach, they might send someone to check you out.