PDA

View Full Version : What do you see in a student before you let him/her go solo?

Pilot16
3rd Oct 2002, 12:51
Thats the question.
Im a student and thought this might be interesting. I have posted a poll on the private flying forum, regarding how many hours students tooks before going solo. Much to my suprise, some took as low as 6 or even lower without any previous flying experience.

How can this be? It takes a atleast 6 hours (or more) just covering the basic flying menouvres let alone practice circuits and getting the landings right.

So what do you look in a student before you let him/her for first solo? Do you send the student off just when s/he is capable of getting the plane down in one piece, or not untill the student becomes a top-notch circuit pilot?

Looking forward to some detailed responses from the Instructors here.

Thanks very much.

Pilot16

StrateandLevel
3rd Oct 2002, 17:34
Before sending a student solo, you need to see three consecutive safe circuits and landings, the probability then is that the fourth will be much the same.

The student has to demonstrate that the aircraft is under control at all times and that they can cope with simple emergencies in the circuit.

The time taken to go solo will depend on a number of factors, ability, opportunity, age, instructional standards and frequency of lessons. In isolation it means very little.

The judgement required by the instructor takes time to acquire and for that reason the AFI or FI(R) may not send students on their first solo. For an instructor, deceiding when to send their first student solo is a challenge, as experience grows it is quite easy to know when, a feeling in the water!

Wee Weasley Welshman
3rd Oct 2002, 18:46
3 good landings where my heartbeat doesn't go above 72.

In truth there are lots of variables such as weather, their confidence, gut instinct and even mood.