PDA

View Full Version : Instructor Stories.....

flyby_kiwi
12th Sep 2002, 08:07
What good stories have the instructors out there got?

1. What would you have done differently as a newbie instructor?

2. Whats your scariest moment?

3. Whats your most talked about tale if it not to do with #2?

As im only a student I wont be able to kick off the topic tho Im sure it would have been thanks to me and a few other individuals that my instructor could reply to the above :D :eek:

GT
12th Sep 2002, 14:07
Scariest moment was seeing the wages!

Regards, GT.

whisperbrick
13th Sep 2002, 17:20
Well don't know what category this falls under but:

how about the student who had a recent blow to the head and when asked by ATC to climb, simply wound up the QNH to get the relevant altitude...............

or the walter mitty who declared he was an RAF tornado pilot who had ejected and was staying at the local RAF hospital (hit his head on the canopy apparantly as per goose in "top gun")and came from a totally imaginary squadron in cornwall and wanted a trial lesson.....but wouldn't take control and kept going on about 'scuds' but when we called the hospital there was noone of that name there......two weeks later the police rang the school cos he had run off with all his girlfriends cash....

or the instructor who came under "ground fire" from pikies with an airrifle who put a pellet through the canopy on short finals..

Or the laddish BMW whealer dealer who on an introductory flight said,"go on son, show us what this thing can do...its a bit tame"
and I subsequently spent half an hour cleaning the kidney beans he had projectile vomited out of the flap selector....

just an average day at the flying (school) circus.....!

FlyingFowl
13th Sep 2002, 21:36
Most scary moments do not come with the students.

The are are all busy trying to to the best they can.

Your scary moments come from PPL's who have learned to fly.