PDA

View Full Version : Help! Have to go around again!

AdamATC
11th Aug 2002, 17:27
To cut a long story short, I didn't pass the technical interview
but had a "near miss" (Is this NATS recruitment humour?)
and will be having just a second technical interviw in three months time - October.

The letter I received, 14 working days late suggests lack of preparation - I studied my as* off, learnt all that I was sent, I had a top controller up in Scotland post me flight progress strips and did so much research in work time I'm supprised I didn't get the sack! I was not asked any questions about the stuff that was sent to me, not a dickybird about VOR's, DME's or airway ceilings - not a single thing - instead I faced scenario after scenario.

If anyone has any advice about what I may be facing in a second techinical interview then I would love to hear from them.

Also if someone could throw some light on a querie - in my research I read that it may be possible to turn a pilot, briefly out of CAS but still offer a a radar service to him for the duration, in order to let another aircaft say around a thunder storm - on suggesting this in my interview the ATCO raised his eyebrows - any comments.

Thanks to all those who gave advise to get me this far, I shall keep you posted.

Regards
Adam:D

callyoushortly
11th Aug 2002, 19:14
Adam

Tough luck...... but best of British for the next one! :D Seems interesting to me that they're only giving you a few months and then straight back in for a second interview..... never heard of that before!!! But then what do I know!! :rolleyes:

As for the queries..... there's post after post if you search for them here about technical interviews, and also, if you look at the people saying they're about to join courses then they'd be good to ask.... (it's a while since I did them, so I'd best not advise!)