PDA

View Full Version : Slips

MayorQuimby
25th Jun 2002, 16:09
Apologies if this is the wrong forum.

I'm an SPL who's a little confused about slips. Slips are something I'd like to feel I could do on final if I'm a bit high, so I recently got my instructor to teach me.

However, since then, I've noticed that there seem to be completely varying opinions out there on aspects of the manoeuvre.

Specifically, I'd be grateful for opinions on the following:

[list=1]
Whether to initiate the slip with rudder or aileron (or both simultaneously)
Whether to use an increased IAS or just the normal approach speed (or even slower!)
What dangers to be aware of when slipping (am I more likely to spin if I inadvertently stall?)
If slips should be conducted with flap (although this is probably specific to the type)
If slips should be conducted on final at all!
[/list=1]

Thanks.

low n' slow
25th Jun 2002, 17:18
I'm not an expert at slips but I find them very useful when doing flapless landings and such excercises.

What I take into consideration prior to initiating a slip is
- wind, where from and how strong? If it's from the left for sake of argument, I will kick right rudder and bank into the wind. This will result in a wing down method of crosswind approach, although a bit exaggerated.

- turbulence and gusts? Just as a normal approach, increase speed if it seems gusty.

- how will the stabilizer be affected by slipping in different configurations? Flying the C172 for example with full flaps extended in a slip might result in a stabilizer stall.

My belief is that a slip should be performed in relative high speed. Just think of it, why do you want to slip? To lose altitude quickly and without transforming the potential energy into kinetic energy, excessive speed. And if you enter a slip in high speed, say 100 kt for the cessna, there will be a considerable loss of energy in the form of turbulent boundry layers and turbulent wake.