PDA

View Full Version : What is Eurocontrol exactly?

AdamATC
19th Jun 2002, 07:39
Hi guys,

as some of you will know I'm studying for the second NATS interview and I have a question to ask the enlightened!

What is EuroControl? What do they do?

I've been to the EuroControl website and with no offence to any Euro Controllers its all very " hold hands across Europe and make the world a better place";)

From what I can gather they seem to be a bureaucratic and administrative central organisation for aligning the various Air Traffic Agencies of Europe. Now, do they provide staff at European controll centres regardless of nationality from all over Europe or do they man a control centre for Trans European flights.

I'm sure if I trawled through their website and got through all the idealist eurocr*p that I would find the answer (again no offence to any Euro Controllers ;) ) ) but if anyone can give me a succinct answer, that would be great!

Regards Adam:)

zed3
19th Jun 2002, 12:00
AdamATC

Eurocontrol is the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation - 31 member states at the last count if I am still up to date! Headquarters is in Brussels along with the Central Flow Control Unit and International Flight Planning Service , an Experimental ( simulator ) Centre near Paris , ATC School in Luxembourg . It runs the Maastricht Upper Air Traffic Control Centre for the Benelux and northern German upper airspace ( above fl245 ) and is also busy with a new central European ATC centre and school . Eurocontrol is also busy with many acronyms - too many to mention here!

19th Jun 2002, 13:58
Check out all the exciting details at:

http://www.eurocontrol.int/

AdamATC
19th Jun 2002, 14:49
Much obliged as ever chaps thank you!:) :) :)

zed3
19th Jun 2002, 20:38