PDA

View Full Version : Nats Pay?

AdamATC
29th May 2002, 14:24
I'm going through NATS selection and am about to have my technical/personal interviews. NATS publicise ATCO salaries to start at £22K rising to £60k.
Now I have some friends my age (23/24) who are ATCO's and they are earning stupid ammounts of money (for our age) and from trawling through the forum I see there are ATCO's who are more "seasoned" earning not a great deal more - things seem to stagnate very quickly - can anyone explain the actual situation to me? :confused:

Ohh and if anyone has any tips for the interviews they would be much appreciated too!:)

Adam.

Goldfish Watcher
29th May 2002, 15:10
Im a graduate and used to work in the leisure industry. I earned more when training as an ATCO than when I worked in the middle east in the leisure industry.

Another point - although you'll have to work shifts, you wont be getting home from work 12 hours after you left in the morning. Like a lot of people do (unless of course you go to the pub after a hard day 'pushing tin' :) )

Anyway, youll start at CATC on about £17K (im not sure about the exact figure) plus an accomodation allowance and expenses to travel home once a month. Total package is worth just over £20K - this phase is upto 18 months

Then at your unit you will be on a 2 year scale which has 4 points. Starts about 22K and goes up £1500 every 6 months. On top of this you get £4200 shift allowance, a small amount of 'home to duty' petrol money, and if you are near London a weighting of about £1300

After you validate you go onto the ATCO scale (after the initial 2 years of course) Either ATCO3 or ATCO2 (depending on your unit) - ATCO 2 goes up the salary scale quicker and has a higher limit (about £60k or thereabouts). If you want to go management route you might become ATCO1 and earn more.

There are other allowances that I havent got a clue about (instructor allowances etc)