PDA

View Full Version : Grumman AA-5B Issues

LowNSlow
8th May 2014, 14:46
There is a nice looking AA-5 on AFORS which I could get interested in. The price is very reasonable due to the ARC being due in June and the Annual in July.

My background is LAA / EASA Annex II so the EASA ARC system is alien to me.

My first question is what are the likely routine costs that will be incurred assuming nothing major is wrong with the 4,000 hour airframe and 1,500 hour O-360 engine?

Secondly, although I did half of my PPL on AA-5s I know nothing about their maintainability. So does anybody know what maintenance issues occur either routinely or exceptionally but regularly and are there any big no-nos to look out for?

Thirdly, what kind of maintenance establishment do I need to take it to as I'm assuming I can't get an engineer to do the work in a nicely heated and lit hangar provided by yours truly?

Genghis the Engineer
8th May 2014, 14:51
I have a share in an AA5a but don't generally manage the maintenance.

I'll PM you details of the member of our syndicate who does - nice chap, very experienced owner, who should be able to give you a lot of useful gen.

G

LowNSlow
8th May 2014, 14:52
Thanks Genghis that would be very helpful.

Beech_Boy
8th May 2014, 16:22
A good one on the AA5's which was always a good one was the flying controls delaminating along the trailing edge. Also the trailing edge of the wings and stabilisers are prone to delimitation, if I remember rightly you can just re-bond and repair with shallow head counter-sunk rivets.
Also the nose leg ovality check can catch a few people out, it is required inspection to paint strip a certain area on the 'bent' section of the leg and see if the leg has been squashed effectively (hope this makes sense) ultimately if it is out of limits a replacement nose leg is required.

Cheers

BB

VictorGolf
9th May 2014, 17:07
Have you given up on YLA then?

Yankee
10th May 2014, 13:05