PDA

View Full Version : 747-400 Go Around FMAs

StopStart
11th Apr 2014, 22:52
I'm slightly confused about the sequence of FMAs during a TO/GA missed approach and was wondering if someone could edify me.....?

I'm quite happy with the mechanics etc of the go around - as far as selecting VNAV at 1000ft agl. Does the AT go into THR REF or stay in THR at this point? If it's THR REF, what limit is it referencing? CLB?

Initially TOGA pitch is aiming to achieve 2000fpm (at the MCP or engagement speed) and THR applies/adjusts power to achieve that. Once VNAV is engaged and pitch reverts to VNAV SPD are the "roles" not effectively reversed, with the AT supplying a fixed thrust (eg. CLB) and the pitch axis now adjusting to achieve that speed?

Would really appreciate any wisdom and insight that could be offered!

I'm new to the type and the FCOM is a little vague on the subject....

SMOC
12th Apr 2014, 00:24
Pitch modes TOGA/FLCH SPD/VNAV SPD are all speed controlled by elevator,

One push of the TOGA switches gives you THR as you said which aims initially for 2000fpm roc it doesn't chase it there's a transitional phase where things are blended, it depends on the pitch rate and acceleration for when the algorithms/computer think it's added sufficient thrust to achieve the 2000fpm. If the rotation is very slow you'll end up with over 2000fpm. Way beyond the scope of flying. Eventually you'll be in TOGA with speed on elevator and the resultant roc a reflection of the performance during the rotation.

Selecting VNAV at 1000'aal will give you THR REF (CLB thrust) & VNAV SPD it's basically exactly the same, however it also closes the speed window thereby allowing the A/C to accelerate, so the A/C will pitch down or command a pitch down as it's now at the wrong commanded speed.

Opening the speed window in TOGA and winding the speed up would do the same thing except the thrust would stay fixed in THR at the original thrust it locked onto while attempting to achieve 2000fpm roc.