PDA

View Full Version : Could data mining help with the automation vs. hand flying debate?

Zionstrat2
27th Nov 2013, 18:45
Although I am an aviation fanatic and with GA experience, I am a technology strategist by trade and rarely post on aviation forums- However considering the wide variety of 'lack of hands on experience' vs. 'not using available data and automation' incidents (AF447, OZ214, Dreamlifter), I'm wondering if this would be a good time to consider database systems that learn and advise in unusual situations?

I'm aware of point specific systems like TCAS and GPWS that address very specific problems where unsafe parameters were defined well in advance. And AB is often criticized when automation takes control.

But has anyone considered a more generalized database approach that simply provides observation/recommendations to assist in unusual situations?
Big data makes a big difference in other industries- For example, retailers use data mining algorithms to sift thru tons and tons of seemingly unrelated data looking for the potential for cause and effect. Significant relationships that are entirely unknown are often discovered (the apocryphal example is the relationship between beer sales and disposable diapers in convenience stores).

The idea would be to collect all flight data and outcomes over a long period and let the software look for potential relationships and make future recommendations based on those relationships-

Of course the data could be wrong, causality could be off, and there are many reasons why this wouldn't work all the time. Data mining is never 100% effective, but it provides an additional input that isn't otherwise obvious to humans who have limited bandwidth.

However, with enough data, it seems likely that an independent system could easily announce:
• This seems to be an approach to a stall- Consider these remedies...
• You appear to be in a full stall...
• You appear to be well below the normal glide slope...