PDA

View Full Version : Could civilian AAR ever happen?

dogle
1st Nov 2013, 22:29
AFAIK, AAR has never been attempted seriously in (commercial) civilian operations. With the ?quadrupling of fuel costs in recent years, perhaps there is now an incentive.

Yesterday's announcement, by a a significant SE Asian carrier, that their extra-long-haul flights (Singapore to LA and to Newark) were to chopped because they were no longer economically viable as non-stops due to present fuel costs, has resurrected a longstanding question in my mind - could civilian AAR operations ever be a realistic prospect for long-haul passenger flights?

I have no personal experience of the difficulties of air-to-air refuelling, and hope that others here - who most certainly have! - may be able to offer enlightenment?

(I am mindful that, as Operation Corporate emerged, the impossible suddenly ceased to be and that Large Aircraft were modified with amazing swiftness).

BEagle
1st Nov 2013, 22:49
Could civilian AAR operations ever be a realistic prospect for long-haul passenger flights?

No. People who have raised this nonsense in the past have usually failed to add the cost of the tanker and its operation into the equation.

ShotOne
1st Nov 2013, 22:52
The commercial margins in the airline world are tight to the extent that an increase in fuel cost can render a route uneconomic. I admire your original thought but the savings provided by taking on fuel later in the flight wouldn't even begin to cover the capital cost of the tanker aircraft, it's fuel, training, and probes on the airliners.

trap one
1st Nov 2013, 23:27
And with the hidtory of AAR what Civilian airline would ask it's paying customers to take the "risk" or more to the point what Civil Airline would pay the insurance

ShotOne
1st Nov 2013, 23:57