PDA

View Full Version : Engineers to the rescue!?!?!?

All Systems Go
5th May 2002, 18:14
This might have posted twice, so I apologise if it has.

Hi folks.

This is my first post, so please be nice!!

I'm a Systems Engineer at Swanwick, working next door in Systems Control. I was wondering what you ATC types think of the service we provide to you on a daily basis? Is it any good? Is it what you expect? I worked in Systems at West Drayton for 2 years before moving down to Swanwick in October of last year. Is there any difference in the service you received at LATCC? Is it any better, worse or the same? We're a small band of merry-ish men and we do our best, so tell us if we could do better!!

All comments are welcome as we don't get much in the way of feedback from ATC OPs as to how we are doing.

Cheers folks.

Loki
5th May 2002, 19:03
V good so far,keep it up!

I was amused recently , when there was a triple WFD failure on Lakes to see all the sys eng people lined up at the windows watching the fun.

BEXIL160
5th May 2002, 19:13
ATC Engineers are a truly marvelous breed and the ones behind the Glass at Swanwick are no exception. Always helpful, often humorous and always ready with a full explanation of the intricacies of the equipment.... sometimes I even understand them :)

Yes, I am very grateful to "our" engineers and I have great admiration for them.

Just one thing. I'm told that you are most of you are forbidden to posess your "badge of Office", the Hot Soldering Iron, on the Swanwick premises. True or False?

Rgds BEX

All Systems Go
5th May 2002, 19:20
Perfectly true Bex. Have you ever seen an engineer using a soldering iron for what it was intended? We're not actually allowed to use a whole lot in the "EUZ". Hey ho.

Flight Plan Fixer
6th May 2002, 06:27