PDA

View Full Version : Can an FAA Flight Instructor Give Training Abroad?

John99163123
1st Dec 2012, 22:14
If I am an FAA flight instructor, am I entitled to give training towards FAA licenses abroad? For instance, could I open a flight school in Chile, with the intent of offering American licenses to locals?

sapperkenno
2nd Dec 2012, 08:25
It would depend on what the various Chilean authorities rulings are.

peterh337
2nd Dec 2012, 09:48
Correct.

For example, he can do it in the UK, but if he charges money for the flying then he needs to have a JAR-FCL (now EASA) CPL or ATPL. (No, don't ask me why :) ).

The standard workarounds, for FAA-only-rated instructors, are to fly outside UK airspace before the "lesson" starts, or to charge for "ground school" only.

I believe all of Europe has similar restrictions, though some countries care more than others.

The FAA has no known restrictions on where FAA CFIs/CFIIs work, and anyway all ICAO training is accepted towards any FAA license or a rating (so really an FAA instructor is not needed for most of the stuff; not many people know that) but there are considerable difficulties in arranging FAA checkrides outside the USA. The FAA DPE needs an authorisation from one of the FAA offices that cover foreign regions and this is where problems lie, and it is mainly for this reason why most people do the whole thing in the USA where you get a well organised smooth process from start to finish.

zondaracer
2nd Dec 2012, 13:47
I also believe that FAA training completed in the UK also requires the aircraft to be approved with Department for Transport, correct?

Lasty, the DPE may or may not need an appropriate visa to charge for a flight test abroad, depending on the rules of each country.

peterh337
2nd Dec 2012, 14:06