PDA

View Full Version : 737 Autothrottle: Disengage Vs Deselect

galdian
11th Nov 2012, 08:30
Hi all

NOT a question about the merits (or not!) of either - I've been de-selecting for 23 years - simply wondering in your 737 operation whether company policy (and strictly enforced or more a suggestion/guideline??) is:

- must disconnect;
- must deselect;
- either the above at PIC or Captains discretion.

With little explanation ie the following is gospel, trust me! ;)

Mr Boeing states autothrottle disconnect as 737 is often the first jet for a company so KISS principle: all automatics ON or OFF, clearcut, no thinking required.
HOWEVER in an airline where the instructors and pilots are not all knuckledraggers Mr Boeing is more than happy for de-selection if adequately instructed and understood.

Just wondering if company policy is dictated by company size/type of operation/regional location etc or some other dictate(s)....however weird or wonderful!

Cheers:ok:

Capt Claret
11th Nov 2012, 09:12
Not a real Boeing but the B717 has autothrottle on from take-off roll to landing.

A and C
13th Nov 2012, 07:34
i would deselect the Autothrottle when you start to fly the aircraft manually as if you have to GA you will get the Autothrottle to select the TOGA power giving you one less thing to do, this can be critical in avoiding a level bust if the GA level off altitude is low.

I'm sure that others can think of more reasons who deselecting is a god idea.

Denti
13th Nov 2012, 08:22
Company SOP is to deselect it. However it is the pilots discretion to switch it off instead which is usually the best option in gusty weather. Yes, it is nice to get TOGA power when you click the switches, but it is basic piloting to do it manually.

B737900er
13th Nov 2012, 10:02
You get low speed protection by deselecting.

de facto
13th Nov 2012, 11:44
this can be critical in avoiding a level bust if the GA level off altitude is low.

Really?please explain.