PDA

View Full Version : CONF 3 Take off @ AMS

Jack1985
3rd Jul 2012, 21:26
Hi Guys, I have limited experience with the Technical side of aircraft (currently working as a ground handler at Cork) but have a small question about a flight I've just taken.

My Aer Lingus flight tonight EI845 (EI84X) operated with an A320-214 (EI-DEN) departed around 20:50 local from AMS tonight taking off from RWY 06 which measures 11,429ft. Those familiar with AMS and particularly of RWY 06 should understand my next point we immediately began rolling after turning onto RWY06, I spotted an aircraft on final and it became apparent the crew were accelerating from the taxiway onto the runway to get airborne as quickly as possible, I also noticed the flap setting was extended from CONF 2 to CONF 3 and the take-off roll was significantly shorter. I'm wondering is this standard practice? aren't the V1, V2, V3 speeds calculated from a selected Take-off Config?

Thanks for any info :)

mcdhu
3rd Jul 2012, 21:45
it's unusual to take off from RW06 at AMS (don't think I ever have), but it is not one of the landing only RWs.
Short notice intersection take-off S1 or S2 maybe?
I guess we'll never know!

Cheers
mcdhu

ATCast
4th Jul 2012, 09:06
Your flight took of from RWY 24, the opposite direction of RWY 06 at 20:41. At the same time a helicopter was turning inbound to RWY 22 for landing which might look like an aircraft being on final for RWY 24.

Replay available here (http://inzicht.bezoekbas.nl/)

Cheers ATCast

Jack1985
4th Jul 2012, 11:24
Thanks ATCast this makes complete sense now :). But my question remains is there any significant change to the aircrafts performance other then a faster climb rate by changing the take-off config from CONF2 to CONF3? And would the imputed V1, V2, V3 speeds then become irrelevant? Or am I just reading into nothing? Thanks again!

Lord Spandex Masher
4th Jul 2012, 11:28