PDA

View Full Version : Help/Advice With My Plans Please

TheNakedTrader
24th Jun 2012, 10:33
Hi there everyone,

I'm writing this from Singapore (where I'm from) and I'm new to this forum.
I'm 27 this year, male, Chinese ethnicity and I have a keen interest in aviation i.e. becoming a pilot.

While I do not rule out being a professional pilot, I believe, as with everything else, it all starts out small...in this case, achieving a PPL.

Here's where it gets tricky...

From what I have found out, the USA, UK and Singapore are ALL member states of the ICAO. And while ICAO licenses are generally cross-recognized
by the member states....Singapore (a horrid country) DOES NOT recognize the FAA licenses issued by the USA. I don't know why and I can't be bothered with the reason in any case.

Instead, Singapore recognizes the JAA/JAR-FCL licenses issued by the UK CAA. A recent check I conducted at one of our local flying clubs revealed that apparently, the syllabus needed to achieve a Singapore PPL is of the same as a JAA/JAR-FCL PPL.

Now...as mentioned above, I do not rule out the possibility of becoming (or at least trying to) a professional pilot in the near future.

This means that I should ideally go down the JAA/JAR-FCL route....which is my chosen route anyway..

I plan to do the flight training in Florida, USA with FlyEft aka European Flight Training..which I have heard pretty good stuff about them here.

Now...the thing is, i would also want to have a stand-alone FAA PPL to function as a just-in-case kinda thing..

From what I hear, keeping a JAA/JAR-FCL PPL current has more hassle to it than keeping a FAA PPL current.

While I could just do a conversion from JAA to FAA, this would mean that my FAA PPL is only valid AS LONG AS my JAA PPL is valid...not something I would like to have.

So here are some questions I have regarding my plans: