PDA

View Full Version : [US] Monthly/quarterly renter's insurance

matthewlai
12th Jun 2012, 22:48
Hello!

I am a student pilot about to solo, and so my flight school requires me to get renter's insurance.

However, I'm from Canada, and only have about 3 months left in the US, so I don't really want to get an annual policy if possible.

Does anyone know of any insurance company that does monthly/quarterly renter's insurance policies?

Thanks!

Katamarino
13th Jun 2012, 08:16
I looked for this and never found any. You can, I think, buy a year's policy, cancel after a few months, and get 50% back.

7of9
13th Jun 2012, 10:11
Yup that's what I do to fly in the US. Buy a years policy, then when vacation over unless next years is within the policy in force, cancel & you get 50% of your fee back.

Trev

matthewlai
13th Jun 2012, 17:13
Oh ok! I think I will do that, then.

Thanks!
Matthew

Maoraigh1
13th Jun 2012, 19:55
Who do this insurance? (For Aliens) I'm interested in it. I never found a source - but got FBO to arrange some cover. (Liability limit written)

matthewlai
13th Jun 2012, 20:02
My FBO and instructor recommend Avemco. I just emailed them and they confirmed that they can do the 50% refund thing.

I'm an alien (from Canada) and they certainly don't mind. Just need to submit a copy of passport (scan).

Maoraigh1
13th Jun 2012, 20:28
In 2010 they wouldn't consider me. Discussed it at their stall at Rocky Mtn Fly-in.

7of9
13th Jun 2012, 23:55
AOPA Aircraft Insurance (http://www.aopaia.com/renters_start.cfm)

i use these.

trev:ok:

Maoraigh1
14th Jun 2012, 19:41
I clicked on your link. I note the addresses must be in a Lower 48 US state - phone if your address is Alaska or Hawaii.

Katamarino
14th Jun 2012, 21:20
I used AOPA, by phone. They were happy to insure me, just needed a US address, which could be the FBO.

david viewing
15th Jun 2012, 09:34