PDA

View Full Version : PPL training abroad.

sheffieldlad
30th May 2012, 19:26
Hi all,

I'm new to flying after doing a recent 30 min trial flight I'm looking to do my PPL either at an airfield local to me or somewhere in the U.S.

I don't know too much about the subject to be honest so I'd like to pick a few brains to hopefully help me make up my mind whether to do the training locally to me or go abroad and do it.

I want to do it in the U.S. for the experience but above that I want the best training I can get and I don't know if the U.S. is the best place to get a jaa licence.

If I go to the U.S. and do it, will the licence have to be converted when I return to the UK?

What are the pros and cons of learning abroad compared to learning in the UK?

I have more enthusiasm than knowledge right now so a lot of the websites such as UKFT only confuse me with phrases like 'jaa compliant' (what the hell does that mean?) The UKFT site got me excited until I saw this and spotted numerous spelling mistakes....

At the moment I'm quite lost in a fog of acronyms and marketing. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Paul.

XLC
31st May 2012, 00:02
it is not that complicated, the information however is scattered all over the place. This website has several threads alluding to most of it.

What you need to start with is the end: where will you use your licence the most? If you are based in the UK I would suggest you aim first for a licence valid in Europe on planes registered in Europe ( JAA/EASA PPL). The most simple is to aim for a licence issued by the EU's country's authority where you reside officially; ( if not you will have to convert it to a licence issued by the country where you reside, but that is more admin.)