PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Starting a Flying Vlog

Beej336
27th May 2012, 06:33
Hello everyone, new member to the site, but I visit from time to time.

Sorry if this is in the wrong section, but it seemed to be the most fitting one.

Lately, I have been thinking about starting a flying video blog. This would be similar to many other "moto-vlogs" on YouTube, only this would be in a plane as opposed to a motorcycle or car. I figure I can talk about maneuvers, ATC calls, how to go about starting flight training, my own flight training, and the like. Granted, I am just a beginner pilot myself, just now starting my instrument rating. I've got a microphone that rests in my headphone ear-cup, so that would be how I'd record my voice. I will be flying mostly in a Cessna at a towered airport.

But my question is, do you guys think this might be a bad idea as far as a legal standpoint? I know that if someone got hurt doing a maneuver or something and blamed it on me, it would be a big issue. But what about myself doing something dumb on the air, not noticing, and it gets on YouTube? Would covering the N# placard and censoring the N# being said over the radio be enough to not cause an issue?

I know people record themselves flying all the time, but I have a feeling something like this is a whole different story.

Thanks in advance.

Whopity
27th May 2012, 17:01
This would be similar to many other "moto-vlogs" on YouTubeThen surely that's the place to go as people who like that type of thing will probably find it more easily.

The500man
27th May 2012, 17:18