PDA

View Full Version : PA38 V C152

Blue Bandit
11th May 2012, 21:51
Hello fellow pilots.:O

Can any of any of those experienced aviators out there offer sound and good advice to a novice. Given the choice, would you prefer to obtain your PPL in a low wing PA38 or high wing C152? I am aware of the pros and cons of visability of the high wing Cessna compared to the PA38. I have flown both, prefer the PA38 for visability, but the C152 for stabilty and ease of control. Any advice/thoughts/previous experience greatly appreciated.:ok:

BB

Ds3
11th May 2012, 22:07
My opinion may not hold much relevance as I have no experience in a PA38, however I am learning in a low wing Robin HR200 and much prefer it to the C152.

Ok the C152 is more stable in terms of basic flight controls, but I find the Robin far more involving and therefore interesting to fly, and feel like it's a better learning experience as it requires more input.

Having only flown the Robin previously I was also shocked at how poor the visibility in the C152 was, especially in the circuit. The visibility in the Robin is far superior, as I imagine it would be in the PA38.

To be honest though, if you've already flown both just go for the one you prefered!

RTN11
11th May 2012, 22:12
PA38 hands down.

More space, the C152 is far too cramped.
Slightly faster, so you get more for your money when it comes to nav training.
Better view.
Better stall characteristics (from a teaching/learning point of view)

The 152 does have a better useful load and take off performance, but if you and your instructor aren't too heavy then all is well.

Ultimately, both have had their day and the PA38 in particular is a dying breed due to it's wing life limitations. I'd rather find something a bit more modern, perhaps a nice robin or diamond. But given the choice between the two, PA38 every time.

abgd
11th May 2012, 22:24