PDA

View Full Version : IMC Training in cloud no radar cover

Aware
17th Apr 2012, 14:15
An opinion please.

I am an experienced instructor but inexperienced in IF training.

I carried out an instructional revalidation training IMC flight from Cambridgeshire(Unlicensed strip) up to DTY - WCO - CFD - Cambridgeshire.

Departed early Friday morning got on top at about 3000 ft then flew the corresponding quadrantal to DTY in VMC. No radar cover as I assumed Cottesmore are now closed, so was talking to Cranfield.

Turned at DTY - WCO but due to lower quad. decended encountered cloud whilst on the appropriate quad. Still talking to Cranfield so didn't get radar cover.

Then turned to CFD and still talking to Cranfield getting a basic service. Cloud cleared and then we turned onto eastly heading back to Cambridgeshire.

Thinking about the flight on the way home I felt we should really never enter cloud without a radar service as increasing risk of a collision, quadrantal does only work if everyone else is doing the same. Climbing and descending there is still a risk.

What could I have done better ?

S-Works
17th Apr 2012, 16:21
Nothing, sounds like a well executed flight within the privileges of the IMC rating. The nature of the IMCr is that you will frequently encounter this type of scenario and it is good practice for you and the student. Mind you it's personally why I prefer to teach for the IR as I spend all the time pretty much in CAS!!!

sycamore
17th Apr 2012, 20:10
Cottesmore Zone 130.2 will get you a service,although A/F is `closed,except by Notam..

S-Works
17th Apr 2012, 21:10
No it won't.... Cottesmore is gone. There is no Zone and no service. I live right under the Wittering ATZ which is also deactivated but can be activated by NOTAM.

mrmum
18th Apr 2012, 17:38