PDA

View Full Version : Microlight Down near Kincardine, Clackmannanshire

riverrock83
12th Apr 2012, 17:33
BBC News - One dead after Clackmannan microlight crash (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-17691664)

One person has died (no survivors). The picture on the Beeb appears to show it as G-MVSV which was a GEMINI FLASH IIA, but G-INFO says that was de-registered so I've probably got that wrong.

RIP

http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/59630000/jpg/_59630030_microlight_closer.jpg
(image from news link)

DX Wombat
12th Apr 2012, 22:46
I don't think you have. I read that exactly the same. :(

Sir Herbert Gussett
13th Apr 2012, 01:44
It was G-MVSV... whatever it was doing in the air at that time should come out in future I hope!

Genghis the Engineer
13th Apr 2012, 07:07
I have no knowledge but the permit could have bee just renewed, or the flight could have been for a permit renewal.

G

Unusual Attitude
13th Apr 2012, 08:10
Seems the gutter press have mastered G-Info :ugh:

Pilot dies as microlight falls 100m - Top stories - Scotsman.com (http://www.scotsman.com/news/scottish-news/top-stories/pilot-dies-as-microlight-falls-100m-1-2231113)

As Genghis said, could well have been the Permit test flight, seems to take the CAA a few weeks to update their online records from what I've seen of my own aircraft over the years.

UA

gasax
13th Apr 2012, 08:46
You can hardly blame the press - given that pilots - who bluntly should know a great deal better - leapt to the same conclusions.

All-The-Nines
13th Apr 2012, 19:15
To be honest, I think that newspaper article is one of the most accurate and well researched articles I have seen.

I have no knowledge but the permit could have bee just renewed, or the flight could have been for a permit renewal.