PDA

View Full Version : Defect Avoidance and Defect Tolerance

hval
17th Feb 2012, 10:19
I was gobsmacked yesterday; jaw on the floor thing; nearly fell of my seat.

Was in an all day meeting where Defect Avoidance & Defect Tolerance was rasied as being something totally new! This was with senior persons who, I am sure, should already have been aware of this.

I mentioned JSP 518 (Regulation Of The Naval Nuclear Propulsion Programme), HAPM, TQM, Crosby, Deming, Astute submarine construction and a few other things. I got a mixture of embarassed, disgusted and, "what the hell are you wittering on about" looks from most of them.

Wow! How disappointing.

High_Expect
17th Feb 2012, 18:48
Sounds interesting.... do be sure to tell us if you get a delivery of paper clips next week.

hval
17th Feb 2012, 18:56
The paper clips will probably be delivered to the incorrect building.

Wensleydale
17th Feb 2012, 19:16
I can't spell defect

If you spelt it deficate then it explains the looks that you got.

Rigga
17th Feb 2012, 21:24
I'm quite sure you'd get far better attention, especially from the Seniors, if you substituted 'Tax' for 'Defect'.

tucumseh
18th Feb 2012, 06:03
hval

Unfortunately, indicative of the dumbing down across MoD.

In 1996, there was a seminar organised at AbbeyWood by EFA to announce a new phenomenon they'd discovered - electronic component obsolescence. As with you, we showed them the mandated Def Stan and 3 specs for managing obsolescence / unavailability.

A few years later, about 2002, DPA's Director General Finance announced something new called "Systems Integration" and that she'd approved millions on a 3 year study to find out what it was. Again, she was shown the (same) mandated Def Stan.