PDA

View Full Version : FE to pilot retraining- is it worth it?

basil fawlty
3rd Jul 2001, 01:43
I am a flight engineer, 33 years old with 1100 hrs. All the airlines will no doubt change aircraft to 2 crew types in the next few years. I would like to continue flying, but the new JAA system is really too much of a commitment for me in terms of time and finance. Is there a realistic chance that I could get a job with a mainstream airline? As far as piloting qualifications go, I already have an FAA commercial, multi, instrument with 310 hrs t.t. However, I am a UK citizen, and I guess that this is of little use with my current level of piloting experience. Are there any ex FE's out there that have retrained as pilots? (ex BA FE's I know about) If so, how did you go about it? Who are you flying for now? Also, in general, what experience level would I need to make use of my FAA CPL outside the USA?
This is a real dilemma, so all advice welcome please!!

DownIn3Green
3rd Jul 2001, 14:42
If you have an A&P that would be a real asset as that license alone could off set your lack of pilot hours for certain jobs.

Why don't you consider getting yourself an FAA CFI (very easy to do) and then work at the same school for 6 months or so to build your hours.

Then I don't know about the majors, but contract flying will no doubt be utilizing 3 crew a/c for years to come.

When I am looking for new crew for the 727, the emphasis is on a highly skilled F/E with an A&P (someone who is getting harder and harder to find these days). The F/O can really be any warm body with a license and some common sense. (sorry guys, don't mean to put you down). In this case, I could accept you in the right seat with your A&P and F/E experience, despite your lack of a thousand hours, and relax the requirements for the hard to find F/E...

Just a suggestion.

Good Luck.

CaptainSquelch
4th Jul 2001, 03:21
Basil,