PDA

View Full Version : How do VORs / LOCs work?

ioan_jones
28th Mar 2001, 21:28
I've only done some gliding so far, and since we generally use maps/GPS could someone please explain how VORs or Localisers work? Someone told me they are similar to NDBs, is that true?

Anyway, thanks a lot

tom775257
28th Mar 2001, 22:26
Hi,
what plane do you fly?? I'm still learning in K-21's.
A VOR is a VHF omni-range....it is a radio navigation 'station' that, to put it simply, allows you to track inbound or outbound to the station on a particular bearing ...so, for example, you could track inbound on a 35 degree radial etc. you would set the frequency of the VOR into the nav radio, then set the radial you want to track with the Omni bearing setting (OBS). You would then fly towards that radial and intercept it. Look on aeronautical charts for something that looks like a compass rose, usually it is a VOR.
The localiser provide pilots with course guidance to the runway centerline during approach in the horizontal plane (usually combined with the glideslope that provides vertical information to maintain usually a 3 degree glide slope from the horizon)
An NDB is just a fixed point, you couldn't designate to track towards it on a specific bearing, you can just head towards it.
tom.

[This message has been edited by tom775257 (edited 28 March 2001).]

ioan_jones
29th Mar 2001, 00:19
thanks a lot, think I've got it now....

I'm still learning to fly gliders, mostly K-13s, but the weather's been so bad and along with this FMD I havn't been able to fly much recently. Still, that what comes with living in the wettest country this side of Brazil in the wet season....

Luftwaffle
29th Mar 2001, 00:26
How does a VOR work?