PDA

View Full Version : Renting in LAX area for trip to Las Vegas

cello.ch
9th Mar 2011, 18:26
Hi fellow pilots

I'm a Swiss pilot (130h) with a validated FFA PPL. In July this year I will spend a week in Los Angeles to visit a convention. I would like to arrive a week earlier and rent a plane to fly to Las Vegas (and maybe some places in the nearby area). I was searching this forum and found a couple of suggestions already, but some of them are a couple of years old. So my questions you might be able to answer are:

1) Is there a FBO in the LAX area (Van Nuys, Santa Monica) which is renting a Cirrus SR-20 or Piper Archer PA-28 (overnight rental 3-4 days)?

2) Which VFR route would you suggest from Los Angeles to Las Vegas in this time of the year

3) Is the preferred and easiest airport in Las Vegas Henderson (KHND)

Many thanks for your time and suggestions in advance.

Regards from Switzerland,
Marcel

Duchess_Driver
9th Mar 2011, 20:23
The other airfields that serve Vegas are North Las Vegas and, of course, McCarran. Last time I checked, McCarran still took VFR traffic.

Henderson is towards the southern end of Vegas and would probably be the best place to plan for. You can check the whole route using Skyvector.com or other such sites.

En Route (sight seeing wise...) SoCal probably has it spot on. There's not much to see. If you like airliners then Mojave or Victorville (both north of track) may be a place to stop for a de-fuel. If you want something scenic to see and a nice burger then Big Bear City is well worth a trip.

But again, as SoCal says, if it's July then be careful with your performance calcs - it does get very hot out there.

HTH

DD

Mark 1
9th Mar 2011, 21:07
Cal Air at Torrance have the SR20 at $210/hr block rate (last I knew).
They do transition training. I'm not sure about multi-day rental.

I can't add much to the comments on route or choice of field, but there are plenty of scenic side tours not far away.