PDA

View Full Version : Parachutes

thing
27th Feb 2011, 21:19
As a glider pilot I always wear a 'chute, is there any reason light aircraft pilots don't? 'Chutes have saved many glider pilots lives and they are cheap. Do L/A pilots think they are cumbersome/unusable or what? It seems odd to me that they don't wear them.

Genghis the Engineer
27th Feb 2011, 21:30
Powered aeroplane pilots don't as a rule all around in circles under the same bit of cumulus.

Structural failure, when you don't fly into another aircraft, is incredibly rare. Virtually any other emergency is best dealt with by gliding to a field - as you glider chappies obviously do at the end of most flights.

The theoretical risk of engine fire is virtually unheard of, after that most light aircraft accidents start somewhere under 500ft - where a parachute is of pretty much no use.

That said, most aerobatic pilots, do wear parachutes - because they're probably the only people at significant risk of either an unrecoverable spin at high altitude, or a structural failure at high altitude: those two being about the only good reasons to use a 'chute in a powered light aeroplane.

G

SNS3Guppy
27th Feb 2011, 21:37
those two being about the only good reasons to use a 'chute in a powered light aeroplane.

The main reason I wear one is because I plan to get out of the airplane at some point before it lands. Let's face it, freefall is fun.

Slowing somewhat before landing, after freefall, is a really good idea.

One generally doesn't need a parachute in an airplane because one is wearing something better: an airplane.

Many who wear parachutes, either for gliders, sailplanes, or aerobatics, have never actually used a parachute, and this is peculiar.

eharding
27th Feb 2011, 21:40