PDA

View Full Version : Any good books recommand?

davissiu
14th Nov 2010, 23:13
Hi guys, I am very new to aviation, but I'd like to acquire some aviation knowledge through books or internet resources. Does anyone have any suggestion where to start with and how to proceed? I'd like to build up my knowledge step by step before I apply cadet program and have technical interview a couple years later. I appreciate for any advices :)

Mechta
15th Nov 2010, 16:41
Flight without Formulae - A C Kermode

Model Aircraft Aerodynamics - Martin Simons

Introduction to Flight - John D Anderson Jr.

The top two are very readable, and the second applies as much to full-size aircraft as models. The last give some maths, and you aren't going to get away from that in aviation.

NASA has a good website for explaining the theory of flight too: Beginner's Guide to Aeronautics (http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/K-12/airplane/index.html)

Go to a model aircraft club and experience flying for real, albeit with a transmitter in your hands. You will rapidly pick up the terminology.

The Hong Kong Aviation Club says it aims to encourage youth in aviation, so you could do worse than talk to them too: http://www.hkaviationclub.com.hk/nav2.html

Without knowing what you already know, its difficult to direct you to material at the right level, but there's plenty of stuff on Wikipedia, and if you don't understand something, come back here and ask!

davissiu
15th Nov 2010, 21:54
thank you for your reply. I am thinking about buy the FAA's Pilot's handbook of aeronautic knowledge, is that a good one to start with?

I will surely go look up more technical stuff on the internet as well as the books you suggested.

Once again, thank you for your generosity:ok:

goldfish85
15th Nov 2010, 22:10
Aerodynamics for Naval Aviators by Hurt

Stick and Rudder by Wolfgang Langeweische (or something like that)

Goldish

orangeboy
15th Nov 2010, 22:29