PDA

View Full Version : JAR. TR current without having flown the real airplane in years and years???

Microburst2002
31st May 2010, 13:13
I thought that in order to revalidate a TR we needed to carry out 10 sectors in the type, but apparently this requirement is not needed. All you need is a check with a TRI.

My question is: can I maintain a JAR TR for ever, year after year with just a sim check, without actually flying the damned real airplane?

For instance, if I am a 737 pilot and find a job in the A300 in Asia, can I remain current in the 73 for years without actually flying it?

Moreover, I heard you can make a TR without the touch'n'gos in the real airplane. Is that right? If so, you could be a B777 pilot for ten years without actually having flown it even once!:ugh:

Am I wrong?
What am I missing?

Gulfstreamaviator
31st May 2010, 13:46
stupid as it sounds, you are complying with requirements.

nothing to say how you gain a few hours in the year,or your recurrent training.

glf

what next
31st May 2010, 13:55
Hello!

Moreover, I heard you can make a TR without the touch'n'gos in the real airplane. Is that right?

Maybe there are differences between JAR/EU countries, but here in Germany the landing training (minimum 6 landings) is mandatory. Otherwise the authortiy wil not put the TR on your license.

Gulfstreamaviator
31st May 2010, 13:58
so still YES you CAN.

as to initial, I did my Glf4 initial in SAV, on a D sim, and was issued with a UK CAA TR without any touching and going.

glf

Meikleour
31st May 2010, 14:15
Hi Micro,

The previous authority that I used to work under allowed ZFT (zero flight time) type ratings however it was a condition of the alleviation that the line training on the actual aircraft had to be commenced within, I think 10days, of the ZFT sim session and had to be completed with a Base Training Captain. So, whilst you would have satisfied the licencing requirements you would not have satisfied the airline`s AOC requirements.