PDA

View Full Version : About to start gliding lessons

chillindan
23rd Nov 2009, 15:07
Hi,

I am new to this sport, although I have been interested in aviation all my life. I am joining my local Gliding club after Christmas to begin my new hobby and can't wait!!

Can anybody here suggest anything I might need to buy (equipment, books etc) wise in advance? Only with Christmas coming up people keep asking me what I want/need for presents!

Many thanks!

robin
23rd Nov 2009, 15:32
Warm and waterproof clothing.

Get the books later on

pulse1
23rd Nov 2009, 15:45
And an alarm clock to make sure that you get there in time to fly before it gets dark again.

Actually, it was a long time ago, but I learnt in the Winter and most of my fellow students were just as mad as me. We had a great time together. It was interesting how the spirit of the launch point changed as soon as the warmer weather arrived.

Miserlou
23rd Nov 2009, 16:02
Thermal underwear. And good boots.

Good choice of hobby. It really is an excellent sport.
Hope you enjoy it.
Good luck.

A few books perhaps. I see the BGA handbook is there and a book by Derek Piggott, one of the oldest names in the game.
Amazon.co.uk: gliding (http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_ss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=gliding&x=0&y=0)

Fly-by-Wife
23rd Nov 2009, 17:07
Log book.

Second the warm clothing - also recommend wrap-around shades / clear glasses to protect your eyes from the wind.

A shooting stick can be very handy for hanging around the launch point when you can't sit on the grass! :ok:

FBW

fisbangwollop
23rd Nov 2009, 17:22
"Beginning Gliding" by Derek Piggot is a must. Get one from Santa and by the New Year your enthusiasm will be boiling over.