PDA

View Full Version : Cruise C of G

Checkmate
13th May 2009, 23:42
I have been flying Boeings for quite a few years. Every now and then someone bright spark decides its time to over type the default value. How do they calculate this value. I do sometimes fear they just pick a number. I have and still am happy with the default, but can be converted. Your thoughts gentlemen?

SMOC
14th May 2009, 00:09
CX have a procedure in the FCOM with a Fuel Qty vs. MACZFW correction chart.

You take the MACZFW from the loadsheet then subtract the figure from the correction chart, the resulting figure is input to the FMC.

The procedure is used only when max alt is a factor.

huckleberry58
14th May 2009, 00:22
Your cruise C of G is related to the MAC (Mean Aerodynamic Chord) and essentially governs your max cruising level and hence your optimum cruising level. Recall the old 172 days with your lift/drag/thrust/weight couples. Well, when you enter a higher cruise C of G value (up to a point), it effectively shifts the lift vector closer to the weight vector. This in turn requires less downward force on the rudder and hence reduces the effective 'weight' of the aircraft (in reality the rudder produces less trim drag) and therefore you are able to cruise at a higher FL.

barit1
14th May 2009, 01:04
For "rudder" please read "horizontal stabilizer".

AHA! NOW it makes sense!

john_tullamarine
14th May 2009, 01:21
Minor pendantry only ...

Your cruise C of G is related to the MAC (Mean Aerodynamic Chord)

Keep in mind that the practical significance of the MAC to the line pilot is nil. The above statement is a bit like saying "a CG of 100.5 inches is related to a scale from zero to 300 inches .." ie, perfectly true but not illuminating.

requires less downward force on the rudder ... the rudder produces less trim drag

Hopefully, you mean tailplane and elevator ?

framer
14th May 2009, 09:43
Rudder??? must be a fast jet guy flying knife-edge....wicked:ok:

alatriste