PDA

View Full Version : infringements due to poor airspace design ?

bad bear
14th Mar 2009, 10:42
hi, I am new to this subject but I was wondering if any study has been done to see if the airspace designers are giving pilots a near impossible task. I looked at the web site and found this report FLY ON TRACK (http://flyontrack.co.uk/content/reports.asp) of a poor chap suckered in to squeezing through a gap that was only 1 nm wide. ( who can reliably fly through a gap 1 nm wide? Even I could not regularly do that!) The interesting point is that he was in part forced in to this as there was not an over fly option due to Class "A" airspace at 2,500' over head. In hind site he could have gone north of the airfield following the M25.
The thoughts that come to mind are;

1 why is an airway 10 nm wide? Could it be due to the performance of ground and airborne nav equipment and an allowance for pilot technique? If so how are private pilots supposed to get through a narrow gap using this technology?

2 Almost 80 % of the infringements that I looked at were under an airspace base of 2,500' and class "A". Could this be part of the problem? I find low level nav quite difficult and have to plan really thoroughly and fly on a 1;250,000 map as prominent nav features are not always visible from such low altitudes. If pilots were allowed to climb to 3,500' the features would be more visible and navigation would be more certain and detours round ATZs would not be required there bye allowing the helpful guidance of the LAM VOR.

Much of the 2,500' airspace was introduced in the 70's to simplify the airspace as before that there were many different bases, not because it was needed for transport aeroplanes, could it be released now especially as the modern jets climb better?

If my observations are correct, should the CAA create corridors in the London area (even class "D") that are high enough and wide enough for an ordinary pilot to have a reasonable chance of getting through?