PDA

View Full Version : Instructor told student "you are boring"

kloe
13th Jan 2009, 14:12
I am an instructor student in training and in the process of my classroom lesson to my "student" (CFI) I was told I was boring, even though this person is very pre occupied and not a whole lot supportive.

My question I guess, should the instructor teaching me which also happens to be the chief flying instructor at this school tell their student that they are boring and what should I do about it?

thank you

Diver_Dave
13th Jan 2009, 14:39
Of Patrick Swayze's line in Roadhouse..

Is she?

Are you?

I have had similar issues teaching diving, part of the instructor
course covers this exact thing all be it micro teaching subsets
of subjects.

One of the actual marking criteria is the pace and tone of
delivery. Maybe this is what he meant.

I'd suggestspeking to your CFI and seing exactly why he
said it.

Monotone + Technical lecture are not a good combination!

Drop me a PM if you want some of the notes on delivery /
presentation design for microteaching.

Regards

DaveA

NutLoose
13th Jan 2009, 15:21
Tell him his wife didn't think so......:E

Big Pistons Forever
13th Jan 2009, 15:30
A couple of points from someone who is a Canadian Class 1 FI (i.e. qualified to teach the FI course).

1) I think your question goes to the heart of how good an instructor you want to be. The difference between a boring lecture and an interesting one is how much work you put into it and it is up to you to develop your presention skills. There is a huge amount of great information on Instructional Technique on the web. Use it to find tips and advice on how to present.

2) If your FI instructor told you the lesson was "boring" than he/she is not doing their job. What you need to know is why/how was it boring and what you need to do to improve. So ask for specific feedback