PDA

View Full Version : Take-off technique - good or not?

Rishy
7th Jan 2009, 12:21
Hi All,

I've been contemplating posting this question for a while. I'm still looking for people's thoughts so here goes.

I'm 32 hours into my PPL, training in a PA-28. I have been taught throughout that the trimmer should be in the neutral position. During the take off roll, however, a little constant back pressure is required to maintain stability and ensure against 'wheelbarrowing'. Is it not worth setting a little negative trim to remove the need for constant back pressure? If so, how many turns - 1/4, 1/2, a full turn?

I've been trying to think of how the aircraft's stability might be affected as the take off roll progresses, and particularly when rotation speed is achieved, but unless I actually put it into practice (which is not something I'm proposing to do anytime soon) I'll not know. Which is where you lot come in :ok:

This might seem a trivial issue to many but as a low-houred newbie I want to get into good practices from the start.

Thanks

Tim

BackPacker
7th Jan 2009, 12:36
The idea behind setting the trim to any specific setting on take-off is that the stick forces during rotation are manageable until you are able to re-trim for the specific CofG that your airplane has, and climb speed you want to obtain.

In large airplanes (talking big iron here) the CofG is calculated in advance and the trim is set accordingly, and I've even seen the same thing in a Gippsland Airvan, for example.

In a light aircraft such as a PA-28, the pitch forces are very manageable throughout the allowed CofG and speed range with the trim in neutral, and there are no markings on the trim wheel, or calculations in the POH, to set the trim wheel anything other than neutral before take-off.