PDA

View Full Version : Chipmunk retractable undercarriage

alvin-sfc
3rd Jan 2009, 18:56
As a lover of all things De haviland I want to ask you experts out there; is it possible for a Chippie to have a retractable undercart? I know we have to consider where the wheels would go and perhaps even any extra weight penalty but I was thinking along the lines of the legs folding back turning through ninety degrees to leave the wheels and legs lying flat against the underside of the wings(in a recess if possible) similar to the way a Grumman Hellcat's would. I think a Chippie would look great in this configuration, what do you guys think?:ok:

'India-Mike
3rd Jan 2009, 19:13
Weight and space make this a total non-starter. The only benefit would be aesthetic, not performance and even then as a DHC-1 pilot I'd argue that aesthetically it would look like a dog turd on a hot summer's day. And there would be maintenance issues - the thing is expensive enough to maintain without spoiling it in this way

The only tangible benefit might be for ditching - the FRC's suggest 'abandon' rather than 'ditch' for obvious reasons.

Ps my son is also a Chipmunk pilot - has just told me that he thinks Art Scholl might have done such a conversion. Ugh:yuk:

Sting8
3rd Jan 2009, 19:15
totally nuts a chipmunk does not deserve this

Jucky
3rd Jan 2009, 19:15
Famous display pilot Art Scholl (killed filming aerial sequences for the film Top Gun in 1985) did it with his highly modified Super Chipmunk N13Y. It is now displayed in the Washington National Air and Space Museum. See link below for pics.

Air-Britain : N13Y (http://www.abpic.co.uk/search.php?q=N13Y&u=reg)

Regards,

Jucky

Squeegee Longtail
3rd Jan 2009, 19:16
Yeah, and maybe a turbine and de-ice boots and and and...

It is what it is.

Charles Sierra
3rd Jan 2009, 19:31
and It's name begins with a lower case 'd' :ok:

FlyingOfficerKite
3rd Jan 2009, 19:33
Yes G-ATTS the Turbo Chipmunk. So that's the turbine taken care of;