PDA

View Full Version : Canadian Aviation Industry Outlook ?

AviatorSteve
18th Oct 2008, 15:23
Well I've been in university for the last 4 years and have finally graduated (BSc, Biology). Now that I have my degree, which of course is completely unrelated to aviation, I plan on pursuing my dreams of becoming an airline pilot.

I was wondering what some of your general opinions are about becoming a pilot with the current state the Aviation industry in Canada is in, or worldwide for that matter.

Essentially I am asking ... Is it a good time to become a pilot in Canada? Overseas? Why or Why not?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Panama Jack
18th Oct 2008, 16:45
Any recession is a good time to train or be in school. I remember being in university for 4 years and during that time, things looked dismal and I sometimes asked myself why I was studying the field I was.

However, by the time I was looking for work, the industry was robust again and allowed me considerable career progression before the next down-turn.

Timing your career is a little like timing the markets.

Carrier
18th Oct 2008, 20:00
Some years ago a pilot job seekers' book named "The Big Blue Book" or something similar mentioned that in Canada about 85% of pilot jobs are blue collar. Only 15% are white collar, which includes both airlines and corporate. Why would you want to restrict yourself to such a small part of the professional pilot job market? Are you aware of the benefits and the drawbacks of being an "airline" pilot as against all of those other pilot jobs? Are you aware of what it takes to obtain a job as an "airline" pilot in Canada?
It is not an easy path and as PJ mentioned timing and luck play a big part. Also, it is very much a "who you know" progress.

barry60
20th Oct 2008, 00:09
Go for it.