PDA

View Full Version : San Francisco flight schools

VictorTangoBravo
14th Jun 2008, 14:36
Hi there,

I am looking to do an intensive ppl course in the states sometime early next year. I have no previous flight experience (apart from one hour intro flight) and would like to get the course completed in 4 to 6 weeks. Can anybody recommend a good FTO in the San Fran, San Jose and surrounding areas?

I have obviously done my own research via google etc but personnal experience of any school would be much appreciated.

Cheers

tdbristol
15th Jun 2008, 12:26
Hi,

I visited TradeWinds Aviation at Reid-HillView (KRHV) airfield summer last year, just near San Jose (East side of 101); thoroughly recommend them.

2505 Cunningham Avenue
San Jose CA 95148
(408) 729 5100
[email protected] ([email protected])

I was due to fly with them twice when visiting, cancelled once due to the weather, plus I ended up visiting a few more times.

I was really impressed with them. They seemed to me extremely professional instructors; from my limited experience I rated them as far more knowledgable and professional than many UK instructors I have come across. I flew with a guy called Aaron Bell who I thought was excellent, but pretty hard to get hold of.

Most of their aircraft are pretty new; all of them seemed immaculate, mainly Cessna 172. I flew a G1000 172, as I wanted to try out a glass cockpit (fully equipped with TCAS etc.)

RHV seems a good location to train; fully equipped airfield but clearly GA; long wide runways (two parallel); towards the south of the SF bay so close to CAS of San Jose and SFO to get that experience but not right in the middle; easy to fly south e.g. to do touch and gos at Watsonville (which is what I did).

slatch
15th Jun 2008, 21:09
Seeing you are setting a time limit, LVK or one of the valley airports would be a better choice. While RHV is covered in Status, LVK is clear. You will spend alot of mornings at RHV, PAO, SQL and HWD waiting for clear skies.