PDA

View Full Version : The advantages of ACARS/ATSU etc.

CJ1234
23rd Mar 2008, 13:19
Sorry to keep hounding you with questions, this is the final one:

ACARS. I don't understand how:

1) you can get an entire loadsheet printed out on the A320, when the only options given in the ACARS section of the FMGS are for flight reports, weather reports or take off data.

2) I have heard that some Ops directors are slapping the wrists of some pilots for sending rude messages over ACARS on the A320/30. How?? How can you use ACARS to send pilot-edited messages? Is it possible??

3) Why would getting an ACARS loadsheet be so beneficial? Why are so many airlines raving about it, when the load controller just has to pop up with the printed loadsheet?

strange

:cool:

Dream Land
23rd Mar 2008, 16:10
Hi, I'm not an expert but what some major airlines do is to finish the load sheet after the aircraft pushes, the important bits, like weights, CG are sent to the aircraft while it taxis out. You can send a message to anyone as long as you have a SITA address, you should have one for your dispatch in your COM. Hope this helps.

Kennytheking
23rd Mar 2008, 16:55
ACARS is the greatest thing since sliced bread.......

1. Yes, we get the entire loadsheet printed out in the cockpit. There is no selection for it. It is sent by the AOC(Airlines operations center) to the plane and it just arrives.....much the same way an SMS just arrives at your phone.

2. You can send a free text message.......once again just like sending an sms. No big deal and an essential part of any communications system.

3. There are huge time savings involved in using ACARS loadsheets......the loadsheet is compiled at the AOC electronically before being sent to the plane. This saves time and reduces the chances of errors. Think about it.....where would the dispatcher get the loadsheet from? Why send it to him first?