PDA

View Full Version : First lesson just completed

Captain Smithy
27th Jan 2007, 14:16
At last it's happened... first lesson has now been done.

Well, I've waited quite a few years, but now I've finally got off my backside and set off down the road to earn a PPL.

Weather was quite fine, initially CAVOK with a bit of a surface wind (11 knots), got a bit cloudier towards the end but that was still fine. Slightly bumpy at times but nothing uncomfortable.

Flew mostly between 1500 and 2500 feet over East Lothian, detail included effects and further effects of controls, slipstream, power settings and trimming. Was very enjoyable. Total flight time was 1:05.

Tomahawk seems a nice enough aeroplane... seems to fly nicely enough, not that I'm an expert or anything however, just seems fine to me. Fine room in the cockpit, excellent visibility.

Can't wait for the next lesson in two weeks' time!

Many thanks to Instructor Jack Simpson at Edinburgh Flying Club for a most excellent lesson!:ok:

Captain S

ScotsmanCalledPaddy
27th Jan 2007, 14:25
Hi Captain S. Welcome to the world of poverty!!!

Blinkz
27th Jan 2007, 15:44
Glad you had a good lesson, I did my PPL with EFC back in 2005. Great bunch of guys, thanks goes to all of them. NU the tomahawk is a nice a/c, FH is also a nice warrior if you get around to flying that. Enjoy learning to fly!

PompeyPaul
27th Jan 2007, 16:21
Flying, nothing else is like it. Some times you have GREAT days and believe you are probably the mosty talented pilot to ever grace the skies, others you wonder if you will EVER get the hang of it. My first FI told me "Just try to keep enjoying your flying". As time went by, I now understand what he meant.

Get ready for a LOT of reading.

I'm 10 hours in now and absolutely LOVE IT!

jamestkirk
27th Jan 2007, 18:23
I am glad you enjoyed that and you think highly of your instructor.