PDA

View Full Version : Civvy RT

LL-Snowman
22nd Aug 2006, 11:07
Was flying on a nav ex the other day and completely stunned by some of the RT transmissions made by civvy flying schools. it seems that they talk just to make noise and clog up the airwaves.:ugh:

having said that, i got passed on to a small city airport in south yorkshire, who were very helpful and kept the transmissions short and punchy.

Just wondering if anyone else is in the same boat where you can't get a word in due to some johnson having a conversation with another aircraft?

Wader2
22nd Aug 2006, 11:10
I hope that little civvie airport in South Yorkshire was not Humberside.

LL-Snowman
22nd Aug 2006, 11:13
negative, definatley not humberside, theyre too far east to be south yorkshire anyway.:}

Ridgerunner
22nd Aug 2006, 11:37
I am a civvy pilot and a UAS stude, so I view the R/T from both sides of the fence. I do find some civvy R/T to be utter rubbish. I can find myself getting quite hot under the collar as I am waiting to put in a transmission as a waypoint or something approaches, or if I have an important call to make and someone is sitting chatting away making a right faff. Military R/T seems far more succinct and sensible. At times I do find more information could be passed, but ultimately its far more efficient than listening to the drivel coming out on VHF at times.