PDA

View Full Version : Crosswind Landings?

JetMouse
13th Jul 2006, 15:38
Hello

I've been flying for a few years now and am still not happy with my crosswind landings (i still can't quite nail it on the centreline each time) and I was wondering if I could pick up some tips from some of you out there...

What would really help is if you could talk through what you would do from turning base till touchdown, assuming lets say a crosswind from the right...

Thanks...

Mike Cross
13th Jul 2006, 16:10
Bounce about all over the place generally:bored:

I have no flaps and a little wheel at the back so this is probably not relevant to what you do but here goes:-

First thing is to get the aircraft tracking over the ground along the extended centreline. There's a couple of ways of doing this and the easiest is probably just to crab it, i.e. point it towards the wind sufficiently to get it travelling, albeit slightly sideways, along the extended centre line.

Next thing that is ESSENTIAL is to get the speed correct and stable. As you descend the wind speed will reduce so you have to compensate as you get closer to the ground, reducing your angle into wind. You may also find your IAS reducing as a result of the wind gradient and have to compensate for that as well.

The next bit is the tricky bit that will determine success or failure. What you want to achieve is to align the aircraft with the runway heading (kick off the drift), flare, and land, all in a smooth and co-ordinated manner.

If the speed is a little to high you will float, the wind will get you and start you drifting to the left, that's why your speed must be spot on.

Here's the sequence:-

Descending towards the touchdown point, nose pointing to the right and tracking the centreline.